Chipstead Sailing Club

Chipstead SC DF95 Open Meeting Report 5th March 2022

Twenty Eight sailors arrived at Chipstead SC on a damp breezy Saturday morning to contest the DF95 Invicta Trophy.

There was a constant light drizzle in the North Easterly breeze which was just nicely below the top end for the A RIG.

Most sailors rigged in the dry comfort of the large clubhouse, whilst the race team laid a 100 metre windward leeward course.

Following the briefing, the seeding races commenced. Seeding B race was won by Alfred Patten closely followed by Barrie Martin, Simon Fairman and Martin Crysell. Seeding A followed with Richard Calas jumping out into the lead he managed to hold to the finish. Adrian Tomlinson chased him home pursued by Mike Brand and David Adams.

With the top six from each seeding race placed into the A fleet, the remaining sailors commenced battle in the B fleet race. Terry Connell picked the wind shift well to tack and cross the fleet on Port and move into a lead he did not give up. Paul Turner, Jim La Roche and John Caruana had a good battle for the next three places. In the A fleet, Adrian showed he had been paying attention, also crossing the fleet on port as the shift came in. He held his position to the finish followed by Barrie Martin, Martin Crysell and Mike Brand.

Buzz Coleman got to grips with the course and conditions in the next round, winning the B fleet and coming home fourth in the A fleet. Mike Brand won that A fleet race from Terry Connell and Vinnie Zammitt. The morning continued with good racing and penalties being taken on the water for all infringements.

Lunch was taken at 12:30 with Peter Crisp serving up a delicious beef stew with French bread aided by Linda Aldcroft and Jayne Allinson. Everyone was glad to get away from the cold damp North Easterly breezy conditions for the warmth of the clubhouse.

Race results were entered into the race laptop and after five races the leader was Barrie Martin on ten points followed by Adrian on thirteen. Buzz and Vinnie were close behind on eighteen points. Mike Brand and Martin Crysell were in fifth and sixth on twenty one points.

Racing recommenced at 13:30 with the breeze slightly up and the drizzle slightly less and slowly dying away during the afternoon. It was still very cold, but the racing was lively in the stiff breeze. In both fleets the races were won by different sailors up to the final race of the day where Adrian won for the second time in the afternoon. Vinnie, Mike and Buzz also consolidated their positions during the afternoon. Sailing came to an end just after 15:30 hrs after ten races had been sailed. Sailors gladly departed to the carpark and club house where hot drinks with lemon drizzle or chocolate cake was served by Linda and Jayne to a very welcoming group of rather cold sailors.

During the day the fleets had been very well behaved. A few boats had been called over the line and only one general recall had allowed racing to progress as quickly as the fleet board could be updated and the next fleet called to the water. A one minute start sequence had also been used to get racing going more quickly.

PRO and club radio lead Dave Allinson entered the race results whilst tea was taking place. Mike Weston had popped down to see everyone during the morning and had kindly donated three transmitter lanyards for prizes. Prize giving commenced with Dave thanking Linda and Jayne for all their hard work serving food and drinks to everyone. Special thanks must go to club members Peter Crisp Chris Heath and Graham Latter. These guys managed registration, laid and maintained the course, rescued the odd disabled boat, controlled the starts and finishes and also observed.

Prizes down to seventh place were presented with a bottle of wine, with the following three places receiving a lanyard

1. Adrian Tomlinson – Invicta Trophy and first Club boat

2. Vinne Zammitt

3. Mike Brand

4. Buzz Coleman

5. Peter Jackson

6. David Adams

7. Glen Meekoms

8. Paul Turner

9. Martin Crysell

10. Richard Calas

(Full results are listed below)

Adrian thanked the Chipstead race team for the days racing praising the club facilities, the hot lunch and the great racing.


Result of the Invicta Trophy DF95 Open Meeting


Dave Allinson

PRO & Chipstead SC – Radio Lead